The nominees for the annual South African Music Awards (SAMAs) were announced on Friday morning at the Rand Club in Johannesburg. Hip Hop seemed to dominate the lists as rappers KO and Cassper Nyovest walked away with five nominations each.
KO and Cassper are both nominated in the best rap album, best collaboration and best male. KO has been nominated twice in the best collaboration category for Run Jozi with AKA and his own smash hit Caracara featuring Kid X. Cassper looks to scoop the best newcomer award but has tight competition against newcomers Beatenberg who have also received five nominations. Supergroup , The Soil, are hot on their heels with four nominations and rap star AKA has 3, missing out on the album of the year race. It seems to be a tight race amongst the ladies as Moneoa, Bucie, Lulu Dikana, Simphiwe Dana and Maleh have all been nominated for the best female award and have two nominations in total each. Megastar Ringo has kept up with the young guns and has been nominated for three awards. Kelly Khumalo has also received recognition via her nomination for the Best African Adult Album. Categories such as the Lifetime Achievement Awards and the best selling mobile music download will be announced on the night. The SAMAs have been scheduled for April 19 at Sun City at 20:30 and will be broadcast on SABC 1.