Mamokgethi-Phakeng “The 2015 Businesswomen’s Association’s women in leadership census publication recently released indicates that women make up more than 50% of the South African population and 45% of the workforce, yet only account for 21.9% of directorship positions. At the most senior levels, only 9.2% of chairpersons of boards are women, and only 2.9% of chief executives are women,” “Paying tribute to exceptional women and highlighting their respective contributions serves to inspire others to follow in their footsteps,” “Through our various programmes, including these awards, we are actively encouraging women to enhance their skills, recognise their full potential and play an active role in the socioeconomic betterment of our country.” Said Mall
These are the businesswoman of the year finalists
Corporate » Candy Tothill – general manager, corporate affairs at Tsogo Sun;  » Tryphosa Ramano – chief financial officer at PPC Cement; and  » Funeka Montjane – chief executive at Standard Bank.  Government  » Ramasela Ganda – Group chief financial officer at Ekurhuleni Metro Municipality;  » Puleng Kwele – Chief executive at Broadband Infraco;  » Lakela Kaunda – Chief operations officer at the Presidency; and  » Dr Rolene Wagner – Chief executive at Frere Hospital.  Social Entrepreneurship  » Mary Raletooane – Director at Itekeng Disable Centre;  » Adri Marais – Chief executive at the Tertiary School in Business Administration; and  » Patricia Dlamini – Chief executive at Uitenhage Despatch Development Initiative.  Education  » Sharmla Chetty – Regional managing director, Africa at Duke Corporate Education;  » Professor Mamokgethi Phakeng – Vice-principal of research and innovations at the University of South Africa; (Now at UCT) » Motsehoa Franscina Montsho – Principal at Qwabi Primary School.  Science  » Renata Schoeman – Psychiatrist;  » Dr Kea Tabane – Oncologist at Sandton Oncologist Centre;  » Professor Glenda Grey – Chief executive at the Medical Research Council; and  » Professor Leslie Patrik – Lecturer at the University of the Western Cape.